Hieroglyphics

As autumn begins to settle in, here in rural France the Kenyan sunshine seems a long way away, and a long time ago.

We’ve been back just over a fortnight, since when our feet have barely touched the ground. Heaps of paperwork, laundry, photographs and notes to sort, and don’t even mention the garden, a confection of rampant weeds and falling leaves. Oh, and falling walnuts that the dogs are digging out of the ivy and crunching up, which isn’t very good for their digestive systems, causing consequential unpleasantness.

I’ve an exercise book full of scribbled, cryptic notes, often written while bouncing on corrugated roads or lurching through rock-strewn rivers.

²@B

At the time they were written they must have meant something, but I am puzzling over hieroglyphics that say “Limea Brownie”. Or possible “Himea Brownie”. Answers on a postcard, please.

Here is the mighty elephant’s little cousin, the rock hyrax. Cute or what?

ð@B

13 thoughts on “Hieroglyphics

  1. I hope you can sort out your hieroglyphics in due course. I thought I was the only one who did that sort of thing. I do it often when I see an interseting recipe on TV, and then a few weeks later I don´t know what in the world it was all about.

  2. My first husband and I performed a show for a while in which I was called Doris Pinks and he was called Rock Hyrax. I can’t shed any light on your puzzling shorthand but I really enjoyed this little vignette 🙂

  3. I’ve studied it again. Could even be ‘Umea Brownie’. I expect it will be the same here, Helen. If I ever do work out what it is, I’ll have forgotten why I wrote it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

