Old Year, New Year

So, I hope that everybody enjoyed their New Year celebrations in whatever form they took.

Mine was interesting, beginning with eczema on my hands that made food preparation difficult and washing up agony. I was a few days late opening my Christmas present from Santa – a sore throat, a throbbing headache that caused me to keep dropping dishes on the floor, and a cold that drove me to bed before the midnight hour arrived and kept me there for two days. And finally our guest and dear friend who came to stay for three days and found the house freezing, despite the central heating turned up to maximum and burning in two days an amount of oil that would normally last us two weeks. 😀  While TOH and I sweated our friend shivered and enfolded himself in layers of woollen garments.

Anyway, that’s past now, so let’s move onto the positive stuff.

The very best app for Android tablets that I found last year:

Slide It Keyboard. Works faultlessly in English and French and by swiping saves hours of pecking at virtual keys. T-Swipe Pro is also very good, and wonderfully customisable, but I prefer the look and feel of Slide It.

Slide It

Most enjoyable books I read last year:

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry

Harold

Salmon Fishing in the Yemen

Salmon

Speak Swahili, Dammit

Swahili

Things I’ve promised myself to do this year:

Plant a clover lawn

overseeded-clover-lawn

Make some bee houses – and if you don’t know why, then you should follow the link and read the article. The bees need us as much as we need them. We depend upon them for our food.

beehome_side1

Get up no later than 8.00 am every day

Be dressed by 9.00 am every day

Limit my time on Facebook to 30 minutes a day

facebook_logo

Finish at least two of the four books I’m currently writing

Continue doing immediately any job that can be done in five minutes or less

Continue taking at least one item from a room where it doesn’t belong and putting it where it should be

Eat more slowly. I can demolish a huge pile of food faster than the eye can see. I’m trying to make myself chew each mouthful thoroughly, although it’s not easy with soup.

Every month take at least one photograph that I am totally satisfied with.

pen

That’s enough for me. Nothing too ambitious that I know I won’t be able to stick to.

Whether or not you’ve made any resolutions, may this year bring you health, happiness and peace. 🙂

Enhanced by Zemanta
7 thoughts on “Old Year, New Year

    • Thanks very much, Jacqui, and the same to you. Yes, I have read the warnings about clover lawns and unprotected feet ….. I shall wear black patent thigh-high stiletto-heeled boots when walking on the new lawn. 😀

  1. A clover lawn – what a lovely idea. And I think I might adopt your resolution about taking one item from where it doesn’t belong and putting it where it does. The only problem is deciding where it does belong.

    • It will probably have to share with the daisies. I really can’t see any reason for having a grass lawn, other than it looks nice. Might as well have something that helps the environment and doesn’t need pampering. And as far as the moving of items is concerned, it probably doesn’t matter where you put them, as long as it’s a different place from where it was. 🙂

Leave a Reply

