5:2

Several weeks spent in England earlier this year, within 100 yards of the biggest Indian supermarket you’ve ever seen meant that I ate huge quantities of paneer, samosas, chutneys and all those other mouth-watering goodies that make Indian cuisine, in my very humble opinion, the best in the world.

Result: an unwelcome augmentation of avoirdupois.

On top of that, finishing the forthcoming book thus spending most of my waking moments sitting down led to a very great number of quick and easy meals like cheese sandwiches or pizzas, further increasing the unwelcome weight.

So today I’ve started on the 5:2 eating method – two days per week limiting calories to 500, and the other five days eating normally to see (a) if it delivers the health benefits it promises, (b) to see whether it will help me lose weight and (c) whether I can actually restrict myself to 500 calories a day, twice a week. I am a constantly hungry person. ๐Ÿ™‚

TOH is also keen to follow this plan, so here’s how our first day has gone so far:

Breakfast: Porridge made from 28 grams of dry oatmeal, sweetened with Stevia. The quantity was satisfying. 102 calories.

Second meal: 25 grams of dry couscous with half a sliced shallot, half a medium sliced banana, half of a chopped orange and half a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar, served with 100 grams of lettuce sprinkled with a teaspoon of sugar. It probably sounds weird to most people, but we like eating weird things, and it was tasty, filling enough and healthy. 210 calories. TOH had a tablespoon of olive with his meal to give him the extra 100 calories.

Still have almost 200 calories left! What shall it be – another two bowls of porridge, or something more imaginative? I came across a great vegetarian website recently, ย Tinned Tomatoes, which has a tremendous database of original andย interesting recipes, and also gives menu options for following the 5:2 plan. Their spicy aubergine and tomato soup is absolutely heavenly, and it’s one of those recipes where the aubergine doesn’t soak up huge quantities of oil. ย I haven’t worked out the calories yet, but I should imagine that a helping would be fairly low.

For me the success or otherwise of this is going to be entirely due to whether or not I can keep feelings of hunger at bay and enjoy a heaped plate of food, hence I’m looking for foods you can eat lots of but are very low in calories. I see that frozen cauliflower is only 17 calories for 100 grams, that’s good news. I could eat a whole kilo tonight!

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
8 thoughts on “5:2

  1. Soup, lots of soup… My mother used to go to a health farm and one of their tricks to make soup taste rich was to sweat all the veg in water, not oil or butter, but add a small amount at the very end so you got the taste but not all the calories.

    • Thanks, that’s a good tip, Victoria. Also, watching Jamie tonight, he cooked a little rice with the vegetables in his soup, and when it’s whizzled up with the blender, it goes creamy, without the cream. Clever stuff, soup, isn’t it?

  2. Since doing the Dukan diet and happily having shed over 2 stone, I now eat fairly normally. But one thing I learnt from doing the diet was that, other than the obvious use of too much butter and cream, my downfall was the carb department. For me the biggest problem was pasta. Far too easy to cook and eat too much, don’t want to waste it! I have barely used pasta since. Rarely eat spuds except as an infrequent treat and have come to love brown rice as opposed to white basmati.
    I’ve put a couple of pounds back over the months but it’s easy to remove with a few days of a more strict eating order.
    I’m distinctly not a vegetarian but will have a good browse of Tinned Tomatoes thank you. I find sites like that give great flavourful recipes which outdo “ordinary” recipes for veg as much more attention is given to that part of a dish as it’s not intended to have meat or fish as the main flavour.
    Good luck with losing your extra – it does creep up on you doesn’t it?

    • I’m with you on the carbs, Pip. Definitely the culprits. However, as a vegetarian I found the Dukan diet impossible unless I ate tofu until it was coming out of my ears, and (a) I’m not that mad about it and (b) I believe much of it comes from genetically tampered-with soya. The thought of giving up spuds is totally unacceptable. ๐Ÿ™‚

      There’s a certain irony in the fact that since we started the 5:2 plan in the space of three days we’ve hosted a dinner and been invited out twice, on successive nights. But luckily our “2” days fitted in with this.

Leave a Reply

