Facebook is like Maltesers

I always said I was only going to use Facebook purely for keeping track of family. Just like I always say I’ll have just one Malteser.

Image from Wikipedia - CCL

But it doesn’t work that way. Invitations from friends are as hard to resist as another Malteser. And before you know it, my bag of Maltesers is empty and I’m bulging with new friends. Then I start following their causes, sharing their highs and lows, playing games, and suddenly Facebook is absorbing hours of my life that should be spent doing other things.

Twitter is the same, too seductive, too easy to fritter away the hours.

I am not a disciplined person. If there is a bag of Maltesers anywhere within walking distance, I will find them. And I will eat them. All of them, one after the other, or sometimes two at a time, until there are none left. The solution is not to have them within walking distance.

For the last few months I have felt that I’ve been living in a social media whirlpool, flailing around trying not to get sucked into the downdraught. So I am closing my Facebook account at the end of March, and streamlining my Twitter account, so that I can concentrate on writing.

I’ll still be a Click Chick forย ACTU Animaux, and following friends’ blogs, and I’ll still be here for those of you who want to keep in touch. ๐Ÿ™‚

Going to miss the fun and banter on Facebook. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 thoughts on “Facebook is like Maltesers

  1. Pingback: Who Stole My Daughter? « My Midlife Mayhem

    • In fact I didn’t, because Facebook seems to be so thoroughly entangled in all the other social media I use that I cannot escape it. So I just have to eat lots of Maltesers. ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Pingback: I Is For ‘Me’ « The Laughing Housewife

Leave a Reply

