Plus ça change …………

Since we moved here nearly 17 years ago, we’ve seen many changes.

There’s more traffic than there was.

There are speed cameras.

There are white lines painted on the road.

We have to take our household waste down the lane to containers. The bin men no longer collect from outside the houses.

The weather is no longer predictable as it once was.

We keep getting new neighbours.

And then there’s the supermarket. The big one on the way out of town.

First it was called Atac. Then, overnight, it became Stoc. Without notice, it suddenly turned into Carrefour Market.

And now – it’s SuperU.

But some things stay the same. The same trolleys with wonky wheels. The same staff. The same layout. The same products (with different labels). The same single check-out open, the other eight closed. The same queue of old ladies who only have five items in their trolley, but take 10 minutes at the check-out because they can’t find their fidelity card. Or they have forgotten to weigh their vegetables. Or they have forgotten an item and have to go and look for it. Or they won’t pay for their purchases until they have packed them, repacked and re-repacked them several times into their shopping bags. Or they have a bundle of vouchers – if only they can find them in the depths of their handbag. The same lady with a heaped trolley who won’t let the person behind with only two items go ahead of them. It’s always going to take 15 minutes to clear the check-out, even for a single baguette.

Some things, reassuringly, stay the same. 😀

19 thoughts on “Plus ça change …………

    • Ah, I remember that, too, Fly. But I can go one better: when I got home there was another man to empty the car and pack the shopping away in the cupboards. Then he’d make meals from it, and wash them up. And each week he’d give me a shopping list. I do miss Kenya and that lovely, smiling house servant. 🙂

      • Bliss!
        With regard to Sarah’s post…we have an equivalent…Servicios Rapidos.
        You call the firm (two ladies up the road) who take your list, give it to their motorcycle messengers (their sons) who turn up on your doorstep with the goods and the bill…their charge only a tiny portion of it.
        Apparently the shops trust them and they trust their customers….

  1. I live near a heaving metropolis and it’s not like that at all. In fact we have new drive-in supermarkets so you don’t even have to wander aimlessly along the aisles looking for something they’ve moved to another place. Not that I’ve tried them yet…

    • You order on the internet, say what time you’ll be there, then you go to the shop and park by a pay thing, tap in your ref number and staff come out with your shopping already packed. Cool.

      • Good heavens! They’ll be doing home deliveries next! I think it might take a while to catch on here in la France profonde, though. How marvellous to be able to order on-line, and I bet you save money on those impulse buys, don’t you?

    • Ha! You mean you’ve watched me struggling with 12 tins of cat food, a sack of dog food, 6 cartons of milk, a dozen eggs, a lettuce, a bag of tomatoes, a box of washing powder and 6 yoghurts every time I forget the ruddy bag. 😀

    • Yes! You have reminded me. I had forgotten about Champion. That came between Stoc and Carrefour Market. What is going on with these places? Is SuperU taking them all over?

      • Apparently it is something really dull like the COOP Atlantic group who own these stores changing their operating partner (a little too regularly I feel) but I guess they are getting a good deal from the change! However in order to replace my gas bottle I will now need to rummage in my deep drawers for the contract, so they can give me a % of my 1€ back and have me sign a new contract for another supply of gas – ho hum, at least the nice lady in the little booth still puts the petrol in my car for me, I do like a ‘service’ like that!

  2. Thankfully Carrefour Connect locally keeps all their cardboard boxes near the checkout so useful when I forget my bag. I don’t forget really, it’s just that I forget to get it out of the boot of my car.

Leave a Reply

