SPEAK SWAHILI, DAMMIT!

I’ve just finished reading a fantastic true story about a young white boy growing up in a remote African mining village in East Africa in the period following the end of WWII and the coming of Independence. Anybody who has lived in East Africa would love this story. It’s an adventure, a love story, a tragedy and a comedy. It is poignant, inspiritational, very funny and terribly sad. It’s a story of a little white boy with an African heart.

Speak Swahili, Dammit

Don’t be put off by the price of this Kindle book. This one is worth the investment. I did hesitate, but as somebody who grew up in Kenya, and an avid reader of anything about East Africa, and in view of all the outstandingly enthusiastic reviews, I took a gamble. I am so glad I did. It’s a fabulous read, and one that I shall read again and again.

You can get a flavour of the book from this video featuring the author and his family in original film from the 1950s:


7 thoughts on “SPEAK SWAHILI, DAMMIT!

  1. I downloaded it (to the PC) and read it through in one sitting.
    Fascinating book for me as it echoes the stories Mr. Fly’s father told him of his time in the Congo.
    I’ll be re reading it.

Leave a Reply

