Kevin

I’ve been reading “We need to talk about Kevin” for a couple of days, and am one-quarter of the way through.

Last year I read “The Shadow of the Wind” which I found to be incredibly tedious; but I persevered because so many people insisted that I’d love it. I really did try to, entirely unsuccesfully. Reading it was like a punishment. When, mercifully, I reached the end, I wondered why I had devoted many hours to reading something I didn’t enjoy, instead of something entertaining. That’s when I promised myself never again; if a book doesn’t grab me quickly, it goes on the charity pile no matter how many rave reviews it has or how many copies it’s sold.

Kevin had just about reached that critical stage. It’s clever, but wasn’t doing anything for me; far too much soul-searching, hints and angst and not enough happening.  However, suddenly it’s come alive – I’m at the point where the nanny is about to quit – and I’m getting hooked.

I thought it very strange that a male author could write so convincingly about pregnancy, childbirth and maternal instinct, lack of. I’ve only just found out that he’s a she. 😀

Enhanced by Zemanta
7 thoughts on “Kevin

  1. I felt like that too – keep reading! You must keep reading! It’s one of those books you’ll be thinking about for years to come!

    All the best

    Keith

    P.S. You need to read it to the end!

  2. ‘We Need to Talk About Kevin’ is a wonderful book. I agree the first quarter / third of the book is tough going but it’s one of my favourite books – really thought provoking, and disturbing. As Keith says, you need to read it to the end!

    I’m intrigued to see what the new film adaptation is like…

    Lores x

  3. I’ve had Kevin in my TBR pile for ages but keep on putting off picking it up becuse of the subject matter, even though I’ve been told by several good friends that it’s an excellent book. I admit I’m very squeamish.

    • So far I haven’t come across any goriness, just intense and relentless psychological warfare. I’m getting towards half way through, and it’s definitely becoming very gripping. If you do start reading and find it hard going, if you stick with it until the family move to their new house, it really comes to life.

    • It is definitely not a “nice” book, Andy. In fact the subject is depressing and the ending horrific. It’s the writing that makes it such a good read. I don’t think it would be your cup of tea. 🙂

Leave a Reply

