Thinking in tongues

This is very weird.

Since last night, when I was harvesting peaches for my neighbour, I have been thinking in Swahili.

Since I left Kenya in 1972, I haven’t had the need to speak its national language.

Suddenly my head is filled with obscure words, words that more than likely I never actually spoke, but knew by some kind of subliminal process.

Why are they surfacing now?

And more worrying still – how long before I begin talking out loud?

Wasiwasi.

Enhanced by Zemanta
11 thoughts on “Thinking in tongues

    • The only reason I can think of is that I was listening to some Khadja Nin a few days ago. If you don’t know her, she sings in Swahili, and maybe that brought it back to the surface. I’m getting worried that I may be caught in the local supermarket muttering “Wapi maziwa?” πŸ™‚

    • I know, that’s what is so strange. If you asked me three days ago what was the Swahili word for a thief, I could not have told you for 10,000 euros.

      Last night it came straight into my mind, along with a whole load of other long-forgotten words.

      I hope I’m not getting a syndrome. πŸ™‚

  1. If it’s any comfort, Mr. Fly keeps on coming out with the Flemish he spoke with his grandparents…just as a normal part of conversation…sometimes a word, sometimes a phrase.
    Very descriptive some of it. There’s a word for someone being completely out of order which sounds so apt….I can’t spell it but it sounds like ‘oo at a lekk’.

    When his family visit, they always find his Flemish hilarious…they all speak the equivalent of received pronunciation Flemish and he comes out with his patois…

    He reckons he’s going into second childhood…I tell him he’s done that and is now on second teenage…

Leave a Reply

