How on earth ….

Ocarina

Image via Wikipedia

… did I go to do a book signing and end up buying an ocarina?

I didn’t know what an ocarina was before I saw one yesterday. If you’d asked me I’d have probably said it was something like an alpaca. šŸ˜€

Anyway, despite both my maternal great-grandparents, and my maternal grandmother all being operatic singers, I have a voice like a shipyard in full production, and the musical talent of a rock. At school in singing lessons our very nice teacher used to say to me: “You just go and sit there and listen, dear.”

So having failed miserably vocally, even worse on the recorder, and having nearly killed the piano I bought to try and teach myself to play, I go and buy an obscure, neolithic musical instrument. Why? Because the man selling them made them sound like flutes, saxphones, violins, anything you like, just by blowing into them and lifting his fingers up and down. I can do that, I thought.

But I can’t.

Why is it, despite blowing at different angles, lifting fingers in accordance with the instruction sheet, all I can achieve is a most unpleasant, high-pitched shrieky screech? What did he have that I don’t? Musical talent, perhaps. šŸ˜¦

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “How on earth ….

  1. So that’s what they’re called!
    They sell them here, shaped like toucans and turtles and whatnot and these men can get the most amazing sounds out of them.
    Needless to say, I can’t.
    Hope the book signing went well…

  2. The nicest sound I have so far achieved from my turtle-shaped ocarina is a gurgle. In itself it is an unpleasant sound, but not nearly as unpleasant as the various screeches and shrieks like a kettle in distress.

    I feel the man who sold it to me must have left out some vital information somewhere. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

