Imbalance

Now in the 5th week of the Dukan diet, and so far I’ve lost 12 lbs. I’ve not stuck to it religiously – that’s impossible if you eat out fairly frequently, and entertain as we do. I’ve had regular “naughty” days, but for most of the time I’ve followed the rules.

Despite being a vegetarian, I’ve found it’s not difficult to follow. We do occasionally eat fish, and get most of our protein from eggs, tofu and the wonderful Quorn. I feel healthy and fit, and never hungry. That’s the key to keeping to the diet – no unrequited hunger pangs.

I’ve learned to drink far more liquid than I used to, and to limit the amount of sugar and fat in my diet, as well as the quantity of bread/pasta/potatoes that I eat, without cutting them out completely. And by doing so I am losing weight steadily at about 2 lbs. a week and not experiencing any cravings. I am aware that the diet comes in for a great deal of criticism, but it’s working for me with my “adapted” version.

But what disturbs me is the constant thought that while in the Western world obesity is a major problem, and we fight to eat less, there are parts of the world where people people die because they don’t have enough to eat.

It all seems crazy.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “Imbalance

  1. Pingback: Shrinking Doris 2 « Doris Brazil Speaks Out

Leave a Reply

